Since its inception in 2001, the Washington Award has recognized talented artists in the fields of, music, dance, and visual arts especially those who contribute to international cultural collaboration.

Each winner is awarded a cash prize of $5,000. In addition, the Awards Committee may designate a Grand Prize winner who receives an additional $5,000. Award winners are honored annually in the spring at the Washington Awards Ceremony.

The 2016 winners are: Grand Prize-winning composer Saad Haddad and Washington Award winners Maggie Finnegan (Soprano), Gilad Hochman (Composer), Karen Ouzounian (Cello) and Seeta Patel (Dance). Each of these forward-thinking artists is pushing the boundaries of their artistic and performance practices. To learn more about the 2016 winners click here.

Previous Winners

Tim Park
Grand Prize
Mana Konishi
Willi Singleton
Ceramic Art